Hong Kong, 29 August 2018 – China Vanadium Titano-Magnetite Mining Company Limited (“China VTM Mining” or the “Company”, together with its subsidiaries, the “Group”) (Stock code: 00893.HK), announced today its interim results for the six months ended 30 June 2018 (the “Reporting Period”).

The shift in demand to high-grade iron ore from low-grade iron ore has fragmented the iron ore market and driven up the prices for iron ore with higher iron content, which is less pollutive during steel production, while the Chinese government has stepped up efforts in anti-smog policies to control emission and protect the environment. This market trend, though largely affected the Group’s production of low-grade iron concentrates, has resulted in improvement of operating cash flows for its production of high-grade iron concentrates.

During the Reporting Period, the Group’s revenue fell by 23.3% year-on-year to approximately RMB548.8 million as a result of the significantly lower selling price for both low-grade iron concentrates and titanium concentrates and lower trading volume, offset by higher selling price of high-grade iron concentrates. On the back of lower revenue, the Group’s gross profit fell by 31.8% year-on-year to RMB47.7 million with a gross profit margin of 8.7%.

The loss attributable to owners of the Company (“Net Loss”) was approximately RMB400.4 million during the Reporting Period due mainly to weak financial performance and accounting impairment losses including write-down of inventories to net realisable value for the Low Fe and inactive mines of the Group. Excluding these impairment losses and written down value, the Group’s Net Loss would have been narrowed to just RMB12.6 million, as mainly attributed to an improvement in financial performance for the Group’s High Fe mines in the northern region of Sichuan.

The basic and diluted loss per share attributable to ordinary equity holders of the Company was approximately RMB18 cents. The board of directors of the Company does not recommend the payment of an interim dividend for the Reporting Period. 

In line with the fragmented market segments, the Group has now segregated its mines operations by grades and geographic locations to facilitate future strategic reviews, resources allocation and operational management with a key objective to potentially expand production capacity for the High Fe mines in northern Sichuan province as its core mining assets while minimising future impairment losses for the low Fe mines in the southern region of Sichuan.

Looking ahead, Mr. Teh Wing Kwan (“Mr. Teh”), Chairman of China VTM Mining said, “It is obvious that China has stepped up efforts to fight against pollution and control emission that we have seen stringent enforcement measures for environmental protection. China’s ‘Blue Skies’ plans are here to stay for good.”

“These anti-smog policies have fragmented the iron ore market, being the premium-priced high-grade iron ore and the discounted-priced low-grade iron ore. This demand shift is drastic and requires us to formulate our strategies towards improving operating cash flows and minimising assets impairment risk. To improve future financial performance, the management will have to implement definitive plans accordingly without further delay,” added Mr. Teh.

香港,2018 年 8 月 29 日 – 中國釩鈦磁鐵礦業有限公司(「中國鐵鈦」或 「本公司」,連同 附屬公司,「本集團」)(股份代號: 00893.HK),今天公佈截至 2018 年 6 月 30 日止(「報告期 內」)之中期業績。

由於中國政府加強抗霧霾政策,以控制排放及保護環境,導致鐵礦石市場出現兩極,需求由低 品位鐵礦石轉移至於制鋼過程中產生污染物較少的高品位鐵礦石,從而推高鐵含量較高的鐵礦 石價格。此市場趨勢令本集團的低品位鐵精礦生產表現大受影響,但其高品位鐵精礦生產的經 營現金流量得以改善。

於報告期內,由於低品位鐵精礦及鈦精礦售價大幅下跌,貿易量亦有所減少,惟高品位鐵精礦 售價上升抵銷了部分影響,故本集團的收入同比下跌 23.3%至人民幣 548.8 百萬元。本集團的 毛利隨收入減少而同比下跌 31.8%至人民幣 47.7 百萬元,毛利率為 8.7%。

於報告期內,本公司擁有人應占虧損(「虧損淨額」)錄得約人民幣 400.4 百萬元,主要是由於 低鐵品位及不活躍礦場財務表現疲弱並于會計上錄得包括撇減存貨至可變現淨值的減值虧損。 撇除減值虧損和撇減後,本集團的虧損淨額應收窄至僅人民幣 12.6 百萬元,主要源於本集團 四川北部地方的高鐵品位礦場的財務表現改善。

普通股股權持有人應占每股基本及攤薄虧損約為人民幣 0.18 元。董事會不建議派付報告期內 的中期股息。

鑒於市場分部兩極化,本集團現時按品位及地理位置拆分其礦場的業務運作,以便未來進行策 略性檢討、資源配置及營運管理,主要目的為擴大四川北部地方高鐵品位礦場的潛在產能,將 之拓展為其核心開採資產,同時盡可能降低四川南部地區低鐵品位礦場日後的減值虧損。

展望將來,中國鐵鈦董事長鄭永權先生表示:「隨著中國加強防治污染和排放控制,環境法規 的執法力度將日趨嚴格,而中國亦堅持不懈地推行『藍天保衛戰』計畫。」 鄭先生補充:「抗霧霾政策令鐵礦石市場兩極化,高品位鐵礦石出現豐厚溢價,而低品位鐵礦 石價格出現折讓。我們應市場需求轉變實施針對性策略,以期改善經營現金流量及盡可能降低 資產減值風險。且為提升未來財務表現,管理層將刻不容緩的籌畫具體實施方案。」